Anita Johnson wins the Woollahra Small Sculpture Prize  

Artist Anita Johnson has been awarded the 22nd Woollahra Small Sculpture Prize at the Woollahra Gallery at Redleaf in Sydney. Johnson will receive $25,000 for her entry ‘Tenderness’, which will also be acquired for the Council’s permanent public collection.

Anita Johnson, Tenderness
Photo: Jacquie Manning

The exhibition will display 50 finalist artworks, which have been selected from 610 entries from artists working in Australia and abroad for their outstanding contributions of original sculpture of up to 80cm.

The small sculpture presentation attracts an engaging array of artists and all the works are for sale! Prices range from $300 to over $26,000. Once you’ve enjoyed the exhibition why not jump online and vote for your favourite artwork in the Viewer’s Choice Award, the winning artist will win $1,000.

Robert Michael Young received the Special Commendation Award of $2,000 for Cultural Cradle, while Jamie North was selected for the Mayor’s Award, winning $1,000 for Remainder No.52. The Judges’ Award went to Nathan Beard for Corsage.

Nathan Beard, Corsage
Photo: Jacquie Manning

Johnson’s work ‘Tenderness’ is made from a salvaged cricket ball, moulded and dyed leather, linen thread and possum fur. Johnson’s practice is concerned with the brokenness of things, transition and the human experience. Therefore, she was drawn to the cricket ball in its state state of disrepair. It features a cast of her breast and the gallery shares that the combination of materials, found object and her intervention reveal ‘compassion and tenderness in the wake of violence.’

Johnson commented ‘My heartfelt deep gratitude for this support. This award will give me some much needed financial breathing space to run with ideas for new artworks. But more than that this recognition touches my heart in profound ways that has surprised me and brought me to joyful tears. There has been much dancing and whooping around my house with my son.’

Photo by Hamish McIntosh, Installation view of the Woollahra Small Sculpture Prize

Join the upcoming artist talk in the gallery next Saturday, 7 October from 1.30pm, featuring Woollahra Small Sculpture Prize finalists Maria Fernanda Cardoso, Jaqueline Bradley, Anna May Kirk, Amelia Skelton, Braddon Snape, Orson Heidrich, Catherine O’Donnell, Mylyn Nguyen and Johnson.